Stern too harsh? No way. Too Lenient…?

By now everyone has seen the huge fight that took place at Madison Square Garden on Saturday night (and if you haven’t just check it out here in the NBA section) and hopefully everyone has heard of the strict punishments Darth Stern has handed out this week to all those involved. A total of seven players (out of ten who were actually ejected from the game, if that makes sense) were suspended and each team was actually fined $500,000 in an effort to hopefully avoid further similar “events” and preserve the NBA’s already decaying image.

So Stern got the opportunity to dish out some pain this week and honestly, I don’t think he took full advantage. We all know that Stern has been trying to turn the NBA’s players into little 12 year old boy scouts who can do no wrong and after the massive fight Saturday night, I really thought that Carmelo Anthony would be reported as missing and Nate Robinson would wind up in a crate on a cargo plane on its way to somewhere in Nicaragua. Hey, it could happen. The lucky winner to receive Stern’s largest suspension of 15 games was none other than Carmelo (no surprise there) while Nate Robinson and J.R. Smith got 10 games each. I don’t know about you, but personally I think I would have given Anthony way more games because when the fight looked to be over and everyone was starting to calm down, he comes over and punches a Knick player in the face and starts the fight up all over again. I’m not saying Stern dropped the ball because his punishments were definitely reasonable but considering the response from writers and analysts, like Wilbon and Kornheiser, he could have gotten away with much more.


Digg!

Posted in NBA, Sports. 5 Comments »

5 Responses to “Stern too harsh? No way. Too Lenient…?”

  1. Reverend Manny Says:

    Honestly I was most shocked and embarassed when Jerome James left the bench. WTF, NOW he’s gonna put up an effort?! Who knew he could walk? Cuz he sure as shit can’t play any basketball..

    Still, it was nice to see him in Knick uniform and NOT on the bench. Great investment Isaiah. Friggin great.

  2. TwinsFANaddict Says:

    grownn men fighting overr a friggin game is just a little juvenile dotn ya think. next well pull a steven jackson and have a intermission gun fight at half, How’s that for a plan.

  3. pioneer s-mm301 2.0 usb powered computer speakers Says:

    First of all I would like to say terrific blog!
    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I have had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Cheers!

  4. Tabitha Says:

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website
    yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. appreciate it

  5. ddos vps Says:

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?|


Leave a Reply

